Blog for Mental Health 2013

1) Take the pledge by copying and pasting the following into a post featuring “Blog for Mental Health 2013″

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2) Link back to the person who pledged you.

Pledged by: My Life, My Wall, My Depression

3) Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you.

I was diagnosed with moderate to severe depression in Summer 2012, although looking at it now I think I’ve been having depressive episodes since I was a teenager. I have been on anti-depressants (three different meds and I think I might have the right ones now) since the summer and began therapy in the autumn.

My final straw that made me realise I was unwell wasn’t me at all, it was my uni. They asked me to see my GP as after a succession of bereavements, I was starting to struggle to handle every day without feeling completely emotionally overwhelmed. After 8 weeks of crying in my doctor’s office every week or two I finally agreed to take medication and time out.

Since the summer, things have been up and down particularly over Christmas and the New Year but I am starting to see some light at the end of the tunnel.

I only began my blog recently as a way of anonymously discussing the more challenging things in my life without burdening those closest to me with things they may not wish to hear. Through it I hope to make people more aware of the realities of depression without wallowing in self pity. I hope that I will also be able to encourage others with depression and other mental health illnesses to be honest about how they are and supportive of others in their position.

4) Pledge five others, and be sure to let them know!

I am going to pledge 5 blogs, new to me, so that I can see more of the mental health blogging community in action:

Fighting the darkness:My secret battle with depression

Depression Marathon

Broken Saints

A day with depression

To write love on her arms

5) Join the Official Blog For Mental Health 2013 Blogroll.

I would be honoured to get to do so.

4 thoughts on “Blog for Mental Health 2013

  1. Thank you for your nomination. I am honored. I generally don’t participate in things like this, but I am very humbled you chose my little blog out of the many mental health blogs currently out there. Enjoyed your recent posts, too. I’ll be back. Thanks again.
    etta

  2. I just took the pledge myself and I’m now visiting my comrades blogging for mental health.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other.

Leave a Reply

